Recent Achievements


Members of Staff

  • Professor Martin Hilský (Department of Anglophone Literatures and Cultures), Shakespearean scholar and translator, received the most prestigious Czech award for research, the National Award Česká hlava (dubbed the Czech Nobel Prize).
  • Professor Jan Čermák (Department of English Language and ELT Methodology) received The Epic Award of the Finnish Kalevala Society for his edition of the Czech translation of Kalevala by Josef Holeček.
  • Professor Jan Klápště (Department of Archaeology) received the Grant Agency Chairman’s Award for the project Archaeology of the Czech Lands under the Reign of the Přemysl Dynasty.
  • The archaeological team of the Czech Institute of Egyptology achieved the 3rd place in the prestigious list of the most important archaeological discoveries which is compiled every year by the British organisation Heritage Daily.
  • The Department of Information Studies and Librarianship received the 1st prize in the prestigious competition European Conference on Games Based Learning 2015 for the educational simulation Czechoslovakia 38–89: Assassination.
  • Professor Robert Kvaček (Department of Czech History) received a decoration from the Minister of Defence: the Golden Lime Tree.
  • Doc. Zdeněk Hojda and his colleagues (Department of Auxiliary Historical Sciences and Archive Studies) received the award Magnesia Litera (Czech award for the best publications of the year) for their monograph Heřman Jakub Černín na cestě za Alpy a Pyreneje (Heřman Jakub Černín on His Journey Beyond the Alps and the Pyrenees).

Student Achievements

  • The Jan Palach Award had two recipients in 2015: Mgr. Robert Roreitner for his thesis Trójské osudy. K ideji osudu v Íliadě (Trojan Fates: On the Idea of Fate in the Illiad), and Mgr. Michaela Röschová for her thesis Metodologické problémy self-reportových studií (Methodological Problems of Self-Report Studies).
  • Mgr. Vít Zdrálek (Department of Musicology) received the Bernard Bolzano Award for his dissertation entitled Mapping the Individual Musical Experience in Post-Apartheid South Africa.
  • Mgr. Jana Vargovčíková (Department of Political Science) received the Jaroslav Krejčí Award for her research on the legitimization of lobbying in Central Europe.

Recipients of the Josef Jungmann Prize for Translation

The Josef Jungmann Prize for Translation is presented by the Czech Literary Translators’ Guild and its is the most prestigious award for translation in the Czech Republic. The Guild is a voluntary association of Czech translators of belles lettres as well as translation theorists, critics, historians and scholars.

Name Department Title Year
Jiří Našinec Department of South Slavonic and Balkan Studies Bogdan Suceava: Venea din timpul diez 2014
Anežka Charvátová Department of Translation Studies Roberto Bolaño: 2666 2012
Vlasta Dufková Department of Romance Studies João Guimarães Rosa: Burití 2008
Jan Čermák Department of English Language and ELT Methodology Beowulf 2003
Martin Hilský Department of Anglophone Literatures and Cultures William Shakespeare: Sonnets 1997
Jiří Pelán Department of Romance Studies Yves Bonnefoy: Du mouvement et de l’immobilité de Douve 1996